The Year That Was.

This is my first post, and since it’s the 26th of December, I decided a short recollection of everything that happened during this year was the best I could start with. I personally decided to focus on the happier aspects of it because there is never any point in dwelling in negativity. So, here goes!

The first part of the year was dominated largely by a lot of studying and panic, thanks to the upcoming ISC examinations. The most traumatic period though, was the phase post the examination where I firmly believed that i wouldn’t get through a decent college. I cried and cribbed all day and two people who need mention here for helping me get through this phase were Rheya and Jashodhara (she has an extremely embarrassing nickname which I choose not to reveal here). These two girls, have known me  since I was in diapers (literally)  and would meet me in the evenings and make me laugh till I was in tears.

Rheya and Jashodhara. Clicked during Pujo.
Rheya and Jashodhara. Clicked during Pujo.

Well, I did manage to get into a fairly decent college with a subject I’ve grown to love. The first semester, which ended just a few days back, was mainly a learning experience mixed with a lot of fun moments and good times.

There was also this guy, I developed a strong liking for. It’s a funny story about how we met thanks to an examination. What followed was, lots of coffee, good food, getting drenched in the rain, slight bit of alcohol, deliberately getting lost, long walks, lots of jokes and plenty of memories. He seemed to like me too.
But, as all good things come to an end, this did too. Standing at the end of the year, I frankly don’t have any regrets or complaints about whatever happened. I indeed, gained a good friend.

There was pujo, with all its colours and grandeur. Those were five days of insane dancing, the mammoth food festival, sarees, dressing up and sleepovers.

The happiest time of the year.
The happiest time of the year.
Barsha. Also clicked during Pujo. This picture is proof of all the great food we hogged on.
Barsha. Also clicked during Pujo. This picture is proof of all the great food we hogged on.

The first semester at college was a rather eventful one. In Jadavpur University, the first few months comprised of new faces, freshers, departmental events and then, the unacceptable event of police brutality in campus and Hokkolorob.
I met new people who are going to be like family for the next three years. There’s Shivangi who can talk endlessly and yet be loved by everyone, Dwai with his stupid jokes, Joshita and her sense of responsibility, Vanshika, the pretty one with a crazy fan following, Rahi, who has heard too much of our feminine conversations and many more. There are also around 8 canteens in campus, which meant unlimited options for lunch. (Yes, all the recent weight gain has been thanks to college)

Fashion show at JU as a part of the Freshers'.
Fashion show at JU as a part of the Freshers’. Clicked by Spandan Bandyopadhyay.
College peeps. Clicked on a picnic we went on, after the semester got over.
College peeps. Clicked on a picnic we went on, after the semester got over.

One of the most important things that happened towards the end of this year, was Papercup. The coolest boss and the coolest workplace. Ever. Do check it out on Facebook.
https://www.facebook.com/Papercup.web

We went on a splendid family trip to Rajasthan which definitely revived my love for history. This was clicked in the 'Sheesh Mahal' of the Amer fort.
We went on a splendid family trip to Rajasthan which definitely revived my love for history. This was clicked in the ‘Sheesh Mahal’ of the Amer fort.

The most significant bit, was perhaps School coming to an end. I miss the uniform, gossip, lunch breaks, teachers, the art room and the four walls which protected and had nurtured us for the last fourteen years. My closest friends from school, Adrija, Toshani and Adrija still remain my closest friends.

Adrija, Me, Adrija an Toshu. Clicked at farewell.
Adrija, Me, Adrija and Toshu. Clicked at farewell.

That could appropriately be called an apt summary to a wonderful year that just went by.

PS. I’ve perhaps been a good girl, considering the wonderful waistcoat Santa gave me this year.

PPS. There are two people who deserve mention for being instrumental in me starting a blog. They are Arjyak and Anirban da. Here are the links to their respective blogs.
http://firstpersonsingular95.blogspot.in/
http://www.anirbansaha.com

(All pictures are clicked by friends)

10 thoughts on “The Year That Was.

Leave a Reply

