Nagpur!

The “firsts” in everyone’s life are always special and most exciting. First day in college, first date, first love, first salary and so many more. They always hold a special place in your heart. Visiting Nagpur was one of those. My first trip alone. Yes, all alone! Nagpur is where my childhood best friend Rheya is studying. She’s in third year, Architecture. We’ve really been friends since forever, right from the time we wore pink frocks and ran around collecting flowers in baskets. So, visiting her city once was a necessity to put a face to all the names I’ve heard of from her and to relive all her college escapedes.

Rheya. This was a day we sat in a lovely cafe called mocha and chatted for hours!
Rheya. This was a day we sat in a lovely cafe called mocha and chatted for hours!

We came up with the idea, primarily over a phone call, not really expecting it to take such concrete shape. But eventually it did. And I had one of the most fun trips ever! Visiting Nagpur was special in so many different ways. It started with mom worrying if I’ll be able to keep my boarding pass safely. She still thinks me to be a five year old. Then the first flight alone and a best friend coming to receive me at the airport. After I reached her flat (which they’ve named Gaya Maya for some inexplicable reason), I received the best and warmest welcome i could ever had anticipated, from her roommates. They had a dance prepared, just for me! These were 7 girls who had just heard about me from Rheya, and for them to do so much, was a real surprise. Everyone dreams of living life alone at a hostel sometime in their lives. I got a taste of that in this short trip. From eating out of dabbas, cleaning a few dishes, the scramble for the washroom in the morning and the strong bond of friendship that unites flatmates, I witnessed it all. I was overjoyed when Danica and Chinmayi, decided to take the day off just to spend time with me. We visited a lake and Seminary hills and clicked lots of pictures. Danica is a girl, who has a particular way of talking that’ll make you laugh every two minutes. Chinmayi is a sweetheart and extremely photogenic. These two start dancing and can put up the craziest show ever!

Chinmayi. A happy go lucky girl, who was the only vegetarian among us!
Chinmayi. A happy go lucky girl, who was the only vegetarian among us!
_DSC0053
Danica. Has a very fashionable hairstyle and can make you laugh a lot!

Another highlight of the trip was obviously lots of food. From cafes and restaurants to sampling Rheya’s cooking, my tastebuds had a joyride too. We had everything from Chinese to Indian and others. I particularly loved this cafe called The Breakfast Story, which boasts of the best decor I’ve come across in a long while. It’s menu card resembles a collage from pages out of a magazine, a typewriter waits beside the door where you can type your feedback, a wall is covered with newspapers from around 50 countries and the bill comes inside a Reader’s Digest!

The menu card. The most innovative and colourful I've seen in along while!
The menu card. The most innovative and colourful I’ve seen in along while!
The wall with numerous newspapers! source- Their facebook page- https://www.facebook.com/thebreakfastorynagpur
The wall with numerous newspapers! source- Their facebook page- https://www.facebook.com/thebreakfastorynagpur

We partied one night at her flat and I even painted some of her college work. I met two other lovely persons, Drishti and Abhinav who were sweet enough to come and drop us to the airport! I realized how much fun staying with friends can be. And of course, catching up with Rheya and just chatting for hours has it own charm. I’ll probably go back again someday! This trip gave me memories to last a lifetime!

2 thoughts on “Nagpur!

Leave a Reply

