A December To Remember.

Winter.

Picnics. Hot coffee. Blankets.  Love.

Is it just the weather though that makes this time of the year so special? Wher exactly does the charm of winter lie? Is it a way of bidding goodbye with a blast or having a good time to forget the sorrows that the year brought?

Having stayed in a city like Calcutta all my life, where it’s mostly hot and humid all year round, this one word spells happiness. I’m writing this because it was today that there was a lovely wind blowing when I woke up, probably announcing the arrival of winter  (hopefully) and that got me insanely excited.

So here are a few reasons which make this season a favourite for me.

The happiness all around. With most college exams ending around December, the dip in temperature and Christmas approaching, it always proves to be a very happy month.

I think half of Park Street’s charm lies in all the happy faces around. Yes, all the pretty lights too, but it’s mostly the spirit of the people who go there anticipating a brilliant end to a year, which makes it such a special place. I have a friend who told me recently, “You know Rupsha, Park street is too special a place to go on a date with anybody random. I keep it reserved only for a few.” It’s this special place that Park street holds in our hearts that can never have another replacement.

December calls for good food and a great time spent with the ones who matter.. Koraishutir kochuri (peas kochuri). Nolen gur er paayesh. Christmas cake. Hot coffee on chilly evenings. The list is really endless, but it would be unfair if I did not mention the rooftop barbecue. There’s a little story to this, which I’d like to share.

1604446_10203024120914869_2023263150_n
Most anticipated, the koraishutir kochuri.

 

So one 24th evening, my dad, mom and I went to Park Street for dinner. This was about 10 years ago. However, my dad hates crowds and somehow didn’t enjoy it much. So the next year, in an attempt to make our Christmas special, he made his own barbecue kit. I invited four of my childhood friends. there were a couple of my parent’s friends, and that’s it. Dad set up his tent (He trekked a lot at one point of time) on the terrace for the kids, arranged for a few lights and we spent all evening having delicious chicken and listening to ghost stories inside the tent. That party has become a ritual now and any person who has attended it once will want to attend it every year, guaranteed. This year, the guest list is almost touching 30 and Rheya (who had seen the first edition) will be here after about missing 3/4 editions due to college. From new lips smacking recipes, succulent chicken to the momo that was added to the menu a couple of years later, the party is one that I personally look forward to every year. The rooftop barbecue happens around 5 times in the winter season nowadays, but the one on Christmas is the biggest. Be nice to me and I might invite you for the next. 😉

1613977_10203030610237098_1728718781_n
Clicked about two years ago.

It’s the season when the best people come back to town for holidays. On a very personal note, each year, more and more people seem to be leaving the city to either study or work outside. But thanks to the holidays during this time, they all come back to visit. That always calls for an extra round of celebrations, doesn’t it? This year, my best friend Rheya, studying in Nagpur and Bablai dada, studying in Chicago come back around the same time in December. Toshani, studying in Orissa is already in town. Only I know how excited I am.

 

Blankets. It’s the season when my sister will cuddle me endlessly in the morning because she refuses to get out of the blanket.

1779744_10203070796121720_464012354_n
That’s my best friend Adrija. She literally refuses to get out of this even when I go over.

 

Hot coffee. Long walks. Romance. I’d leave it to that as I’m sure each you have your own romantic dreams and fantasies associated with winter. There is no denying, that it is only when you spend the special times in the arms of someone you love, is when you can call the year complete.

Picnics, meeting old friends and dressing up in the fashionable woolens.

It is also the time for all shutterbugs to get out their cameras. Fresh dew and the mist and fog make some of the perfect frames.

 

SAI_7149ll
Those are dew drops on the spider’s web that make it look this way. Picture clicked by Saikat Bhadra.

 

The list of things that make winter special is endless. I know I emphasized on December, but that’s because it’s this month that sees so much joy and festivity around.There is an unmistakable hope in everyone’s eyes. Hope for a better year next year. Hope of being together with the favourite people for longer. A hope to let go and enjoy the last few days of the year because you just a fixed number of trips around the sun anyway and it calls for a celebration..

There is an unmistakable hope in everyone’s eyes. Hope for a better year next year. Hope of being together with the favourite people for longer. A hope to let go and enjoy the last few days of the year because you just a fixed number of trips around the sun anyway and it calls for a celebration..

Or maybe, there is a little bit of pixie  dust in the air that brings about the magic.

So go out there and make it a December to remember.

Leave a Reply

